top of page

The Relationship Cliché

Ever since I can remember, I have always been a hopeless romantic. My life revolved around being “in love” with “someone” and building an entire life with him; even if that someone never even knew I existed. I was desperate for a love story, a fairy-tale, a lived happily ever after life. Guess what I got it!

I never really understood what made me so into relationships. When you come and think of it, relationships are at the core of our existence, even Tom Hanks in cast away befriended Wilson the ball! Look into Abraham Maslow’s hierarchy of human needs and there you go, the need to love and be loved is there in the middle of the pyramid. Your sheer presence in this world is the result of two people getting together.

I won’t deny that a lot of what I learned about relationships started from John Gray’s classic ‘Men are from Mars, Women are from Venus’, followed by other relationship self-help books. But it didn’t stop at the reading; I put a lot of what I read on relationships to the test and it worked, those relationship authors were right. Oh well, maybe I got a little lucky and maybe it was a self-fulfilling prophecy. The outcome was a change in my perspective of relationships and hence in my personality. I was no longer a hopeless romantic!

From dating to marriage is a relationship journey and perhaps even to divorce. It could start with butterflies or maybe just a he/she is interesting-depending if you are more emotional or intellectual- but the rest of the journey is up to you.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page